About a year before the Playstation 3 launched, I began following a site devoted to Playstation news. I sought it initially after the Playstation 3 was announced so I would have a source of updated information on the upcoming console. At the time, I was going to college and working full time to pay for that college, and I intended fully to buy a Playstation 3 at launch for that whopping $600. Which I did, on top of my steep monthly college payments and doing delivery at a pizzeria.
Without a doubt, the efforts I made to obtain what I wanted were both founded and worth my while. I managed to buy my Playstation on launch day due to the very, very limited preorder opportunity offered through Gamestop; that offer was only open 45 minutes nationwide. I managed to fanagle my information with a good friend from Fargo, North Dakota in order to preorder. I paid in full up front, so I was guaranteed my console, even through the quantity slash that Sony had a week before launch. The only down side was that I had to drive 300 miles to get it.
Since November 17th, 2005, I have been granting my bandwidth to Playstation Universe, because they have always had unsegregated information regarding Playstation.
I had wanted to be part of the site for most of my time involved with my Playstation 3. I took it very personally, both my Playstation and Playstation Universe. I invested in a product that was financially dangerous, considering the new technology involved and the incredibly high price tag. I believed in it; Kojima and his creations can also be to blame for it as well. I gained my information on the console through Playstation Universe, and the affinity for favoritism took over and I have never been interested in openly and regularly following other sites.
Over the past few years, I had tried to communicate with PSU staff, to see if I could do some review work, since analyzing games had become something of an interest. I never received responses. Essentially, I was a fan boy who wanted a chance, and chances are hard to give without credibility. Understandably, I gave up my endeavors and continued my college life and following the news portrayed through PSU.
After a failed time period in my life and a barrage of funerals,  I moved with my girlfriend to a college town to regain our bearings. We found jobs at a sub shop and reentered college for our bachelors degrees. The Playstation foundations that I had established came with me. I checked news every other day, at least, to keep up on game releases and console progress.
I met a friend through the Playstation Network named Mark. A great friend. I’ve never met him either, in person. I introduced him to the best that my life could share via internet: great times in multiplayer and my favored news outlet. In our down times, we competed for the highest trophy count and smack talked laggers and snipers in Killzone 3.
Life went on like this for another year or so between college, work, and gaming with Mark. A new venue opened for me in September, on the tail end of my full time reinstatement into college: journalism within the gaming industry.
PSU offered the public an opportunity to write features about Playstation and its contents and software through a program coined The PSU Writer’s Army. I thought for a day or so, pondering both ideas and personal availability of time. My limiting lifestyle almost hindered my decision to apply for the Writer’s Army.
Ultimately, a Twitter post by THE Hideo Kojima changed my outlook. He spoke of the determination of the people from West who were more determined than those from his culture, and that fewer students from Japan were seeking education into the gaming industry. He also spoke of one student in particular who he knew. The student would spend all of his free time,  literally, playing and studying video games because he loved them so much. When he was away from his development office, he would be playing Call of Duty while eating, or even without, so he could have more opportunities.
His conclusion was that anything worth the while is worth making time to devote to it. So, I took his advice whole heartedly and applied. I was immediately instated.
My first idea was a big one. The Uncharted 3 multiplayer beta had launched in May, and I had issues with its play. So, I wrote about how the transition between 2 and 3 wasn’t smooth, resulting in stiff controls and uncharacteristic mechanics that felt ingenuine to the caliber that Naughty Dog had proved in the past. I titled it The Dangers of Progress.
It was a hit. I was complimented by many on the staff, and many of the PSU site members agreed fully with my creative observation.
I pitched a few more ideas about the gaming industry in general, but they didn’t get published or finished at this point. Early August, I was contacted by PSU’s executive editor Adam Dolge, and he asked me if I would like to work for PSU as a freelance editor. I was shocked, enthused, zealous! I hadn’t thought about entering the journalism field, since I had already established my psychology major. After these experiences, however, the options are up for grabs.
I learned how to use the server system, write and post news, and even have had opportunities to write reviews. I was not prepared for my next opportunity in this fresh career with PSU.
On October 10th, Adam Dolge contacted me again while I was delivering for my sub shop job. He said, “I may have a game demoing for you in SF.” I’m from podunk southwest Minnesota, and SF has always meant Sioux Falls, South Dakota. I asked for clarification, and he said “San Francisco.” My podunk mind was taken aback. I had never been outside of the Midwest before this, and I was once again filled with polarities of opportunity and self-inflicted limitations. I asked for a day to think, and I contacted everyone I knew directly, including my friend, Mark. He said, “You’re doing it, right?” I immediately thought again of Kojima-san’s Twitter post. My life in this college town isn’t going anywhere. It never will.
I accepted his offer, and I worked with him and a representative named Karen through EA Games to line up the flights.
I started this year on the sidelines of the gaming industry. I now find myself positioned in the playing field as I’m in flight to San Francisco for an opportunity that few receive. Even if this doesn’t pan out, which would be against my wishes, I have lived my dream. I’ve also seen a new venue of opportunity that didn’t dawn on me until PSU took me under its wing.
Thanks aren’t enough for this. I can only do my damnedest for those who believed in my ability. I hope to represent Playstation Universe far better than I would of myself. I would not be anywhere right now, outside of a stagnant eduction, without these chances. This onus is mine, and I will cater to it until I’m no longer needed. Until then, my pen will be in benefit of Playstation Universe, the base that built a string of good decisions in my life.

